SOFA Archive: Julia Griffiths Jones

Julia Griffiths Jones - 2011

Carmarthenshire based textile artist Julia Griffiths Jones was represented by Ruthin Craft Gallery at SOFA Chicago in 2003. Julia works with wire and textiles to make make forms which function as wall based sculptural drawings.

Julia says of her work:  “My work is concerned with the translation of textile techniques such as stitching, quilting, patchwork, embroidery, into a wire and metal form; thus changing its original nature and function but retaining the meaning and the decoration. I am very inspired and influenced by Textile work created by women alongside their domestic duties as much as for need as for warmth. This interest began when I was a student at the Royal College of Art.

I won a scholarship to research and study Textiles in Poland and Czechoslovakia. Here I saw Folk Art for the first time; it was everywhere woven through all aspects of life. Gradually I began to transfer my drawings into three dimensions using wire and became totally enthralled by the possibilities of drawing in space using line and colour. My training and qualifications are in Textile Design so this change in materials was a huge departure for me but a very crucial one as through it I began to create, I believe, a unique language and a deeply satisfying one.”

 

 

 

About Kathryn Campbell

Gallery Assistant at Oriel Myrddin Gallery in Carmarthen, Wales UK
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

